📢 Early bird deadline EXTENDED 16 January 2024 31 January 2024. Register now

ICC Sydney

  • 00Days
  • 00Hrs
  • 00Mins
  • 00Secs

Prof Fary Khan

Royal Melbourne Hospital
Fary Khan

Prof Fary Khan AM, MBBS, MD, FAFRM (RACP)

Professor Fary Khan AM, MBBS, MD, FAFRM (RACP) Professor Fary Khan is the Director of Rehabilitation at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Victoria, Australia. She was elected as the Vice Chair of the International Society of Physical & Rehabilitation Medicine (ISPRM) at their Annual Scientific Congress in Lisbon, Portugal on July 2022. She was inducted into the US National Academy of Medicine, and she was also awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for outstanding contribution to Rehabilitation Medicine and disability in 2022. She is the current Inaugural Academic Fellow on the Board of the Australian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine (AFRM), Royal Australian College of Physicians (RACP), and Elected Board Member of the Rehabilitation Medicine Society of Australia & New Zealand (RMSANZ). She is the Australian Representative (AFRM) for the Asia-Oceania Society of Neuro-Rehabilitation and current elected vice president of the society. She is an Executive member of various national and international committees including the WHO-ISPRM Liaison Committee, the UN-ISPRM Liaison Committee, the Women’s Health Task Force, the Cancer Rehabilitation Network ISPRM, ISPRM Disaster Rehabilitation Committee and ClinFIT Taskforce, RMSANZ Disaster Rehabilitation-SIG, and others.

Professor Khan has over 20 years of experience in Neurological, Cancer and Trauma rehabilitation. She set up evidence-based specialized rehabilitation programs for specific conditions such as Multiple sclerosis, Guillain-Barre syndrome, stroke, oncology, musculoskeletal injuries and disaster management. She was awarded:  the Sydney Licht Award by the ISPRM in 2018, the Haim Ring Award in 2020 for education and capacity-building efforts; and the Joel A. DeLisa Lectureship Award-2021, by the Association of Academic Physiatrists (AAP) USA and many others. These prestigious awards are given in recognition of her significant contributions to the advancement in developing Rehabilitation Medicine and consistent contribution to building evidence-based practices in Rehabilitation (>450 scientific publications), promoting community-based rehabilitation programs and various models for health service delivery, developing measurement and clinical outcome evaluation, innovation in disability-related healthcare, building global capacity in rehabilitation medicine and leading the international task force for developing disaster relief for rehabilitation services.

Recently added

Join mailing list

Stay up to date with the latest news from ISPRM 2024